07 Jan Georgia’s ‘Super Speeder’ Law: What It Means for Drivers
Georgia’s ‘Super Speeder’ Law: What It Means for Drivers
On January 1, 2010, the Georgia Legislature passed the ‘Super Speeder’ Law. Since most laws are confusing and subject to interpretation, here are the nuts and bolts of the ‘Super Speeder’ Law, and an explanation of what it means for any person who drives in Georgia.
Who is a Super Speeder?
Anyone who drives on a multi-lane road or highway (e.g. Cobb Parkway, Roswell Road, or any interstate) at 85 miles per hour or faster; or anyone who drives on a two-lane road at 75 miles per hour or faster.
What is the penalty for ‘Super Speeders’?
An additional $200.00 on top of any speeding fine that may be imposed.
‘Super Speeders’ will receive notice of the $200.00 fee in the mail and will have 120-days from the date of the notice to pay the additional $200.00 to the Georgia Department of Driver Services.
What happens if you fail to pay your ‘Super Speeder’ fine?
If a ‘Super Speeder’ fails to pay the fine within 120-days from the date he or she received notice, the driver’s permit, license, or driving privileges in Georgia will be suspended.
Anyone who is charged with driving more than 14 miles per hour over the speed limit will accumulate points on their driver’s record. If you accrue more than 15 points in any twenty-four month period, your license will be suspended.
If you have any questions regarding this blog, please feel free to contact our attorneys by either leaving a comment or submitting a contact form.
Follow us on Twitter: @ATLSuperLawyers
Like us on Facebook: Law Firm of Arora & LaScala